"Logo Bachs Oboe"

Bachs Oboe

A library of J.S.Bachs music for oboe

BWV 1053a Oboe concerto

Oboe concerto reconstructed from BWV 49, 169 & 1053

Complete score
Oboe concertato
Violin 1
Violin 2
Continuo with figured bass

This score is a reconstruction of an oboe concerto which is unfortunately lost. However, there is a harpsichord concerto (BWV 1053) and Bach used the music in two cantatas: BWV 49 “Ich geh und suche mit verlangen” and BWV 169 “Gott soll allein mein Herze haben”.

For my reconstruction I used mostly the cantatas and double checked it to the harpsichord concerto BWV 1053. The harpsichord version has a lot more ornamentations - mostly because some idoms are impossible to play on a harpsichord (such as long notes, which are easy on an oboe). Every single note in this version is from Bachs hands.

Some musicologists claim this work actually to be an oboe d´amore concerto in D-major (opposed to F-major as in this version for oboe).

Related cantatas