"Logo Bachs Oboe"

Bachs Oboe

A library of J.S.Bachs music for oboe

BWV 144 Nimm, was dein ist, und gehe hin

Cantata for the Septuagesima Sunday

Complete score
Oboe d’amore

The cantata „Nimm, was dein ist, und gehe hin“ was composed in Bachs first year in Leipzig. He performed it for the first time on the Septuagesima Sunday, 6th of february in 1724. The cantata is based on the parable of the workers in vineyard (Matthew 20, 1-16; see links).

The cantata starts with fugue choir, the instruments colla parte to the choir voices, citing Matthew 20, 14. The following aria „Murre nicht, lieber Christ“ admonishes to be content with life and to rely on God - reflecting on the muttering vineyard workers.

The third movement is the first verse of Samuel Rodigasts chorale „Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan“. It is not perfectly clear if Bach decided to divide the cantata in two parts (1-3 before the sermon, 4-6 afterwards).

The 4th movemment is a secco recitativo ends with „Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan“ - Bach links the message of the cantata through every movement.

The score has the 5th movement, an aria for soprano, oboe d’amore and b.c. It praises frugality, reflecting the sundays gospel.

Ist ein Schatz in diesem Leben,
Welcher kann Vergnügung geben
In der größten Traurigkeit,
Denn es lässet sich in Allem
Gottes Fügung wohl gefallen

The cantata ends with the first verse of Abrecht von Preußens „Was mein Gott will, das gscheh allzeit“.

The score is based on Bachs autograph manuscript.

Epistle: 1.Corinthians 9: 24-27 1.Corinthians 10: 1-5
Gospel: Matthew 20: 1-16

Bach cantatas website
Cantata text
Facsimile bach-digital.de

Related cantatas